The qualifications necessary for an individual to be able to obtain a concealed carry license in the state of Florida are found in Fla. Stat. 790.06. For purposes of obtaining a concealed carry license, Fla. Stat. 790.06 defines concealed firearms and/or weapons as handguns, electronic weapon or devise, tear gas gun, knife or billie club but, does not include machine guns. If you are successful, your concealed carry license will be valid throughout the state of Florida for a period of seven (7) years.
To qualify for a concealed weapons license in Florida the applicant must:
- Be a resident and citizen of the United States or a permanent resident alien of the United States;
- Be at least 21 years old or older;
- Not suffer from a physical infirmity which prevents the safe handling of a weapon or firearm;
- Not be a convicted felon; (unless your right to own and possess a firearm was restored by executive clemency);
- Have not been “committed” for drug abuse, found guilty of any drug crime or had an adjudication withheld for any drug crime, all within the last three (3) years from the date of your application;
- Not chronically and habitually use alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired. It shall be presumed that an applicant chronically and habitually uses alcoholic beverages or other substances to the extent that his or her normal faculties are impaired if the applicant has been convicted under s. 790.151 or has been deemed a habitual offender under s. 856.011(3), or has had two or more convictions under s. 316.193 or similar laws of any other state, within the 3-year period immediately preceding the date on which the application is submitted;
- Not been adjudicated an incapacitated person under Fla. Stat. 744.331 or, must have waited five (5) years after such determination of incapacity was removed by court order;
- Has not been committed to a mental institution under chapter 394, or similar laws of any other state. An applicant who has been granted relief from firearms disabilities pursuant to s. 790.065(2)(a)4.d. or pursuant to the law of the state in which the commitment occurred is deemed not to have been committed in a mental institution under this paragraph;
- Not had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any felony unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled, or expunction has occurred;
- Not had adjudication of guilt withheld or imposition of sentence suspended on any misdemeanor crime of domestic violence unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled, or the record has been expunged;
- Not been issued an injunction that is currently in force and effect and that restrains the applicant from committing acts of domestic violence or acts of repeat violence; and
- Not prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm by any other provision of Florida or federal law.
Even if you are not prohibited from the purchase and possession of a firearm under Florida or federal law, the following circumstances could still prevent you from qualifying for a concealed carry license in Florida:
- If you have a “withheld adjudication” or “imposition of sentence suspended” on any felony or misdemeanor crime of domestic violence you must wait until three (3) years after all conditions set by the court have been completed. F. S. 790.06(k)
- Under Federal law, if you have an indictment or information pending against you, you cannot qualify for a concealed carry license until that case has been disposed of.
- The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall deny a license if the applicant has been found guilty of, had adjudication of guilt withheld for, or had imposition of sentence suspended for one or more crimes of violence constituting a misdemeanor, unless 3 years have elapsed since probation or any other conditions set by the court have been fulfilled or the record has been sealed or expunged. The Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services shall revoke a license if the licensee has been found guilty of, had an adjudication of guilt withheld for, or had the imposition of sentence suspended for one or more crimes of violence within the preceding 3 years. The department shall, upon notification by a law enforcement agency, a court, or the Florida Department of Law Enforcement and subsequent written verification, suspend a license or the processing of an application for a license if the licensee or applicant is arrested or formally charged with a crime that would disqualify such person from having a license under this section, until final disposition of the case. The department shall suspend a license or the processing of an application for a license if the licensee or applicant is issued an injunction that restrains the licensee or applicant from committing acts of domestic violence or acts of repeat violence. F. S. 790.06(3)
Author: Jeffrey W. Smith, The Orlando Law Group
Jeffrey W. Smith is an attorney for The Orlando Law Group. His practice focuses on veteran appeals, family law, and civil litigation. He is a veteran of the United States Marine Corps, serving in Operation Desert Storm in the Middle East and Operation Restore Hope in Somalia. Jeffrey lives in Oviedo with his family.
Last Updated on November 2, 2017 by The Orlando Law Group