The Orlando Law Group

Mandatory Credit & Financial Education

Debtors must take two credit education courses. The first course is a credit counseling course that the debtor takes prior to filing a Chapter 7 or Chapter 13 petition. The second course is a financial management course (debtor education) that is taken after the debtor files the petition.

Automatic Stay:

The automatic stay begins immediately upon filing a bankruptcy petition. This is an automatic injunction prohibiting creditors, with certain exceptions, from collecting debt from you. The automatic stay protects against foreclosure, repossession, liens, garnishments, and harassing phone calls and letters. The automatic stay applies to all types of bankruptcy. Secured creditors can motion the court to have the automatic stay lifted upon a showing of cause.

Credit and Bankruptcy:

If a debtor files a Chapter 7 bankruptcy petition and receives a discharge the bankruptcy will show on the debtor’s credit for 10 years. If a debtor files a Chapter 13 bankruptcy petition and receives a discharge, the bankruptcy will show on the debtor’s credit for 7 years.

After filing bankruptcy most people are a better credit risk because they no longer owe debt to many creditors. In most cases, bankruptcy provides debtors with a fresh start.

Meet Your OLG Attorneys

Jennifer A. Englert

Jennifer A. Englert
Attorney & Managing Partner
(407) 512-4394
jenglert@theorlandolawgroup.com

Erin F. Duncan

Erin F. Duncan - Partner & Attorney at the Orlando Law Group

Erin F. Duncan
Attorney & Partner
(407) 512-4394
eduncan@www.theorlandolawgroup.com

Kimberly E. Hosley

Christie Mitchell

Jeffrey W. Smith

Brian T. Dunmire

Wendy Hernandez O’Donnell

Wendy Hernandez O’Donnell
Attorney
(407) 512-4394
wodonnell@www.theorlandolawgroup.com

Nicole Rofé

Cameron White


Cameron White
Attorney

(407) 512-4394
cwhite@theorlandolawgroup.com

Jarrod Etheridge


Jarrod Etheridge
Attorney

(407) 512-4394
jetheridge@theorlandolawgroup.com

Mary Zogg


Mary Zogg
Attorney

(407) 512-4394
mzogg@theorlandolawgroup.com

Marsha Summersill


Marsha Summersill
Attorney

(407) 512-4394
msummersill@theorlandolawgroup.com

© 2019 The Orlando Law Group.